National Deaf Studies Curriculum

National Deaf Studies Curriculum

The National Deaf Studies Curriculum was published and launched on 26th March, 2009 by the National Deaf Studies Working Group.

The National Deaf Studies curriculum is meant to be accessed and bought by anyone who is interested in using and teaching from this, in schools, units, services and colleges.

Deaf Studies is designed to assist children in exploring all aspects of their identitiy as bilingual children in today’s multi-cultural world. To achieve this aim the curriculum has five core units:

  • Deaf Identity
  • Deaf History
  • Communication
  • Communication Technology
  • Deaf Community and Culture

If you are interested in purchasing the National Deaf Studies Curriculum you can download an order form here. If you would like to join the affiliate members group of the National Deaf Studies Working Group (NDSWG) please do not hesitate to contact Catherine Drew by email at or visit the NDSWG website.


Subscribe to our newsletter